JavaScript must be enabled on your browser for this PAC to work properly.

San Marcos Public Library
625 E. Hopkins • San Marcos, TX 78666 • 512.393.8200  •  smpl@sanmarcostx.gov 
  New Search About the Library Library Events My Account Hot Titles Research Links News & Weather Local History Photographs Subscribe to BookLetters
 

Piper Reed, Navy brat

by Kimberly Willis Holt


Syndetic Solutions - [Book Review for 9780805081978]

Book Review

:

Publishers Weekly :

Terms of Use:

Crisp writing from a National Book Award winner, and a Navy-family backdrop, raise this otherwise formulaic chapter-book series opener several notches above average. Piper, an independent-minded fourth grader and the narrator here, is hardly thrilled when her father, a Navy aviation mechanic known to his family as Chief, announces that he has been reassigned and the family will be moving from San Diego to Pensacola, Fla., the home of the famous Blue Angels flight team. When they arrive at their new home (after an attenuated cross-country drive that includes a visit with grandparents in Louisiana), she composes a Why-I-Wish-We'd-Never-Moved list, which includes leaving behind her tree house and her very own bedroom (she now shares a room with her younger sister). On the plus side, Piper's parents let her and her two sisters get a dog and, since her choice of breed is nixed, Piper gets to choose its name (Bruna). Before long, Piper sees the Blue Angels soar overhead and decides that she wants to join their elite team when she grows up—and settles firmly into her new environment. Holt (When Zachary Beaver Came to Town) relays quotidian events with humor and insight, believably portraying a likable girl's rapport with her siblings and parents. Davenier's (The First Thing My Mama Told Me) dynamic line drawings convey the narrator's spunky personality. Ages 8-11. (Aug.)

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

distributed by Syndetic Solutions, LLC.:
Syndetic Solutions - [Book Review for 9780805081978]

Book Review

:

School Library Journal :

Terms of Use:

Gr 3–5—This entertaining read will appeal to fans of Judy Moody and Ramona Quimby. Fourth-grader Piper Reed is used to moving—her father is a Navy Chief. But the family's previous moves have always happened during the summer, not in October when school has already started. That is the situation facing Piper and her two sisters, seventh-grader Tori and five-year-old Sam. This time the girls are relocated from San Diego to Pensacola where their father will soon leave on ship duty for six months. Pensacola holds some surprises for Piper—a new puppy, friends who also have a parent on her father's ship, and the Blue Angels flight team (which Piper can watch practice during recess). She also discovers that her siblings can be fun and that there really is such a thing as sister magic. Piper is an irrepressible character struggling with dyslexia and at times exasperated by her place as the middle child with an older sister on the brink of adolescence and a younger sister who is extremely smart. But through it all, her upbeat individuality shines. Davenier's amusing pen-and-ink illustrations capture the personalities of the Reed sisters. A welcome addition to middle-grade fiction shelves.—Terrie Dorio, Santa Monica Public Library, CA

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

distributed by Syndetic Solutions, LLC.:
Syndetic Solutions - [Book Review for 0805081976]

Book Review

:
BookList :

From BookList, August 1, 2007, Copyright © American Library Association. Used with permission.

:
Terms of Use:

In her first chapter book for younger readers, which is apparently the first in a series, award-winningáauthor Holt tells a lively family story that draws on heráexperiences of growing up a Navy brat. For nine-year-old Piper,áit is sometimes hard being the middle kid, especially now that the family is once again going to a new base. When they get to Pensecola, Florida, the first day of school is "not everyone's, just ours." It doesn't help that Piper is dyslexic. But she copes in class, and she creates aáclub to make friends. The family stuff is the heart of the story, not only the constant moves and Dad's being away on duty six months at a time but also the tension,álaughter, and love in Piper's relationships with her bossy older sister and herátalented younger one. Davenier's occasional black-and-white pictures capture the daily family dramas. Readers will look forward to the next book. Rochman, Hazel.

:
distributed by Syndetic Solutions, LLC.:

Back

 

Powered by: YouSeeMore © The Library Corporation (TLC) Catalog Home Top of Page