On the calendar:  Tuesday, 7/29/2014 1:00 PM
Book Club: Discussion of selected by adults Calendar

Regional Weather
U.S. News

News provided by MSNBC
Foster Dad in Hot-Car Tragedy 'Wants to Die'
Police were questioning the two foster parents, and two other children were taken into protective custody.News Image


News Image
News Image
News Image

News ImageNews Image Fri, 25 Jul 2014 22:30:38 GMT
Judge Overturns Florida Ban on Same-Sex Marriage
The judge ruled that the ban on same-sex marriage violated the 14th Amendment to the Constitution, saying it "offends basic human dignity."News Image
Fri, 25 Jul 2014 22:24:59 GMT
More than 250 Homes Burned in Washington Wildfires
The total damage from the fires is expected to grow as fire crews contain the blaze, the largest in Washington state history.News Image
Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:52:55 GMT
More than 250 Homes Burned in Washington Wildfires
The total damage from the fires is expected to grow as fire crews contain the blaze, the largest in Washington state history.News Image
Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:52:55 GMT
Texas Official Accused of Accepting $950k in Bribes
Dallas County Commissioner John Wiley Price and associates took money, cars and land in exchange for contracts, according to indictment.News Image
Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:43:28 GMT
Hot School Bus: Driver Allegedly Left 2 Kids Inside
A school bus driver left two developmentally disabled kids, ages 7 and 9, on a bus with no air conditioning for more than an hour, officials say.News Image


News Image
News Image
News Image

News ImageNews Image Fri, 25 Jul 2014 20:50:06 GMT
Gun Ban May Have Sparked Philly Hospital Shootout
Authorities are investigating what caused a psychiatric patient to open fire in a Philadelphia hospital, killing a nurse and wounding a doctor.News Image
Fri, 25 Jul 2014 19:55:19 GMT
Foster Dad in Hot-Car Tragedy 'Wants to Die'
Police were questioning the two foster parents, and two other children were taken into protective custody.News Image


News Image
News Image
News Image

News ImageNews Image Fri, 25 Jul 2014 19:50:41 GMT
Sneaky Restaurant Patron Steals Painting Off Wall
Security camera footage shows a woman stealing art off the wall of a Rhode Island restaurant. WJARs Olivia Fecteau reports.News Image


News Image
News Image
News Image

News ImageNews Image Fri, 25 Jul 2014 19:01:27 GMT
Woman Says 'Alcohol' Caused Her Bad Behavior
A remorseful woman says she doesn't remember slapping flight attendant, forcing the flight she was on to return, then later kicking a police officer. KVLY's Nicole Johnson reports.News Image


News Image
News Image
News Image

News ImageNews Image Fri, 25 Jul 2014 18:36:09 GMT
Serial Flamingo Bomber Strikes Again
Someone is blanketing a St. Louis neighborhood with pink plastic flamingos- 41 have been left so far. KSDK's Art Holliday reports.News Image


News Image
News Image
News Image

News ImageNews Image Fri, 25 Jul 2014 18:33:37 GMT
NYC Street Renamed for Young Lords
Over four decades after fighting for social justice, New Yorks Young Lords will have a street in El Barrio named in their honor.News Image
Fri, 25 Jul 2014 18:33:06 GMT
'Forgotten': Foster Baby Dies in Hot Car in Wichita
Police were questioning the two foster parents, and two other children were taken into protective custody.News Image


News Image
News Image
News Image

News ImageNews Image Fri, 25 Jul 2014 18:32:34 GMT
'Didn't Know' Gun Was Loaded When Renisha McBride Was Shot
Theodore Wafer says he didn't realize shotgun was loaded during a fatal confrontation, when car accident victim Renisha McBride was on his front porch. WDIV's Roger Weber reports.News Image


News Image
News Image
News Image

News ImageNews Image Fri, 25 Jul 2014 18:30:27 GMT
Repeat Hero: 'I Like to Help People Out'
A Florida man pulls a victim from a car crash, just months after saving neighbors from fire. WBBH's Lindsey Fry reports Tony Strong humbly says he considers himself to be lucky to be at the right place, at the right time.News Image


News Image
News Image
News Image

News ImageNews Image Fri, 25 Jul 2014 18:25:38 GMT
2014 NBCNews.com
Online Databases
Click to search this book in our catalog The Silkworm
by Robert Galbraith

Library Journal As we all know, Galbraith's first Cormoran Strike novel won great reviews but not great ...More

Click to search this book in our catalog Mariners Compass
by Earlene Fowler

Library Journal In order to inherit a house from a man she never met, series protagonist Benni Harper (Dove in the Wi...More

Click to search this book in our catalog I'll Be There
by Goldberg Sloan, Holly

Book list A naturally gifted musician, Sam and his younger, possibly autistic brother, Riddle, have been rais...More

Click to search this book in our catalog Junonia
by Kevin Henkes

Publishers Weekly In this introspective story about a child's search for a rare shell, Henkes (Bird Lake...More

Click to search this book in our catalog The Man Who Walked Between the Towers
by Mordicai Gerstein

Publishers Weekly This effectively spare, lyrical account chronicles Philippe Petit's tightrope walk bet...More

Click to search this book in our catalog The Last Child
by John Hart

Publishers Weekly A year after 12-year-old Alyssa Merrimon disappeared on her way home from the library in a...More

Click to search this book in our catalog Half a Life
by Darin Strauss

Book list Although the accident was what insurers call a no fault fatality, the moment Strauss' car struck and kill...More

Click to search this book in our catalog Slow Down for Manatees
by Jim Arnosky

Publishers Weekly Arnosky (A Manatee Morning) again focuses on this gentle marine mammal in a story inspired by an a...More

Click to search this book in our catalog Shiloh
by Phyllis Reynolds Taylor

Publishers Weekly In the tradition of Sounder and Where the Red Fern Grows comes this boy-and-his-dog story set in ru...More

Click to search this book in our catalog Open House
by Elizabeth Berg

Book list Two new novels, one from a seasoned veteran, one from a newcomer, take on the subject of a woman finding he...More

Click to search this book in our catalog Most Talkative
by Andy Cohen

Library Journal Cohen is an executive for Bravo Network and host of Watch What Happens: Live, a position tha...More

Click to search this book in our catalog A String of Beads
by Margarette S. Reid

Book list Gr. 2^-4, younger for reading aloud. This one-of-a-kind book encompasses several elements. It is a history ...More

Click to search this book in our catalog Danger Along the Ohio
by Patricia Willis

School Library Journal : Gr 4-7--Willis combines the suspense of a page-turner, the danger level of a thriller, the ...More
Click to search this book in our catalog Tooth and Claw
by Jo Walton

Book list Walton says this book is the result of wondering what a world would be like if the axioms of the se...More

307 Main St. E. Rockwell, IA 50469  |  Phone: 641-822-3268
Powered by: YouSeeMore © The Library Corporation (TLC)