Classic Search  |  Browse  |  Combination  |  LS2 Kids  |  Help  |  My Account  |  Dictionary  |  Multi-lingual
West Bend-Mallard Middle/High School
Regional Weather
U.S. News

News provided by Yahoo
Ten years later, 'unbowed' New Orleans reflects on Hurricane Katrina disaster
News ImageBy Kathy Finn and Edward McAllister NEW ORLEANS (Reuters) - From the Lower Ninth Ward to the Superdome, New Orleans observed the 10th anniversary of devastating Hurricane Katrina, paying tribute to its victims and homage to the city's resilience in the face of disaster. It was the culmination of a week of reflection about a storm that left 80 percent of the Louisiana city famed for its Mardi Gras under water and displaced 130,000 residents. On Saturday, dignitaries made speeches to honor the 1,500 who died, brass bands marched through the streets and neighbors gathered for block parties across New Orleans, where the mood shifted in turns from somber to reflective to celebratory.
Sun, 30 Aug 2015 04:47:45 -0400
Houston police officer killed because of uniform: county sheriff
News Image(Reuters) - The killing of a U.S. police officer on Friday in a Houston suburb was unprovoked, a county sheriff said, saying the victim was a target because of his uniform. "It appears to be clearly unprovoked," said Harris County Sheriff Ron Hickman on Saturday, speaking of Friday's shooting of Darren Goforth at a gas station. Sheriff's deputies on Saturday arrested Shannon Miles, 30, who will be charged with capital murder for the shooting, which Hickman said was captured on surveillance video.
Sun, 30 Aug 2015 06:04:31 -0400
Fan dies after fall in Atlanta stadium
News Image"We have received confirmation that the fan involved in an accident at this evening's game has passed away," the Braves said in a statement after the game. A reporter covering the game for Fox News described the incident on-air, telling viewers "Someone just fell over the upper-deck right below us" when the incident happened during the seventh inning. The fan received emergency medical treatment for about 10 minutes at Atlanta's Turner Field and was given CPR before being taken to Grady Hospital.
Sun, 30 Aug 2015 00:48:38 -0400
AccuWeather: Hot, More Humid
News ImageMeteorologist Chris Sowers says another heat wave in underway!
Sun, 30 Aug 2015 07:51:29 -0400
Drunk driving suspected in deadly crash in Northeast Philadelphia
News ImagePolice say drunk driving may have led to a deadly crash Northeast Philadelphia.
Sun, 30 Aug 2015 07:46:33 -0400
Copyright (c) 2015 Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved
Online Databases
Click to search this book in our catalog Up Jumps the Devil
by Margaret Maron

Library Journal : Maron returns to fictional Colleton County, North Carolina, the setting of The Bootlegger's Daught...More
Click to search this book in our catalog The FitzOsbornes in Exile
by Cooper, Michelle

Book list Cooper's follow-up to A Brief History of Montmaray (2009) has the surviving members (all five of them) of t...More

Click to search this book in our catalog Snowflake Bentley
by Mary Azarian

Publishers Weekly : Azarian's (A Farmer's Alphabet) handsome woodcuts provide a homespun backdrop to Martin's (Grand...More
Click to search this book in our catalog Resurrection Men
by Ian Rankin

Library Journal: In his latest Inspector Rebus outing, Rankin (The Falls) demonstrates once again his mastery of int...More
Click to search this book in our catalog Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night
by Joyce Sidman

Book list *Starred Review* Like Sidman's Caldecott Honor Book, Song of the Water Boatman and Other Pond Poems (2005),...More

Click to search this book in our catalog The Wright Brothers
by David McCullough

Library Journal McCullough (John Adams; 1776) effectively blends impeccable writing with historical rigor and...More

Click to search this book in our catalog Shiloh
by Phyllis Reynolds Taylor

Publishers Weekly In the tradition of Sounder and Where the Red Fern Grows comes this boy-and-his-dog story s...More

Click to search this book in our catalog A Million Little Pieces
by James Frey

Publishers Weekly : Frey is pretender to the throne of the aggressive, digressive, cocky Kings David: Eggers and Fos...More
Click to search this book in our catalog A Problem From Hell
by Samantha Power

Publishers Weekly : Power, a former journalist for U.S. News and World Report and the Economist and now the executiv...More
Click to search this book in our catalog Optical Tricks
by Walter Wick

Publishers Weekly : Wick (photographer of the I Spy books) reaches into his bag of photography tricks and pulls out ...More
300 3rd Ave. SW West Bend, IA 50597  |  Phone: 515-887-7821
Powered by: YouSeeMore © The Library Corporation (TLC)