Search our Catalog:     
Newbery Medal Winners
2012
Dead End in Norvelt
Click to search this book in our catalog   Jack Gantos

Book list Looks like a bummer of a summer for 11-year-old Jack (with a same-name protagonist, it's tempti...More

2011
Moon Over Manifest
Click to search this book in our catalog   Clare Vanderpool

School Library Journal Gr 5-8-History and fiction marry beautifully in this lively debut novel. It's as ...More

2010
When You Reach Me
Click to search this book in our catalog   Rebecca Stead
 
2009
The Graveyard Book
 Neil Gaiman

Library Journal A baby survives the killing of his family by a mysterious assassin. He crawls to a nearby gr...More

  Click to search this book in our catalog
2008
Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village
 Laura Amy Schlitz

Book list *Starred Review* The author of A Drowned Maiden's Hair: A Melodrama (2006), Schlitz turns to a ...More

  Click to search this book in our catalog
2007
The Higher Power of Lucky
 Susan Patron

School Library Journal Gr 4-6-When Lucky's mother is electrocuted and dies after a storm, Lucky's ab...More

  Click to search this book in our catalog
 
2006
Criss Cross
Click to search this book in our catalog   Lynne Rae Perkins

Publishers Weekly Through narrative that has the flavor of stream-of-consciousness writing but is more contr...More

2005
Kira-Kira
Click to search this book in our catalog   Cynthia Kadohata

School Library Journal Gr 6-8-Katie's first word is "kira-kira," the Japanese word for "g...More

2004
Tale of Despereaux
Click to search this book in our catalog   Kate DiCamillo

School Library Journal Gr 3 Up-In this delightful novel, a tiny mouse risks all to save the princess he love...More

 
2003
Crispin: The Cross of Lead
 Avi

Publishers Weekly Set in 14th-century England, Avi's (The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle) 50th book...More

  Click to search this book in our catalog
2002
A Single Shard
 Linda Sue Park

School Library Journal Gr 5-8-In this tale of courage and devotion, a single shard from a celadon vase change...More

  Click to search this book in our catalog
2001
A Year Down Yonder
 Richard Peck

Publishers Weekly In this hilarious and poignant sequel to A Long Way to Chicago, Peck once again shows that ...More

  Click to search this book in our catalog
 
2000
Bud, Not Buddy
Click to search this book in our catalog   Christopher Paul Curtis

Publishers Weekly As in his Newbery Honor-winning debut, The Watsons Go to BirminghamÄ1963, Curtis draws on a...More

1999
Holes
Click to search this book in our catalog   Louis Sachar

Book list Gr. 6^-9. Middle-schooler Stanley Yelnats is only the latest in a long line of Yelnats to encounter...More

1998
Out of the Dust
Click to search this book in our catalog   Karen Hesse

Publishers Weekly In a starred review of the 1998 Newbery Medal winner, set during the Depression, PW said, &...More

 
1997
The View From Saturday
 E.L. Konigsburg

Book list Gr. 4^-7. Four offbeat students are picked by their wheelchair-bound teacher to be a team for the A...More

  Click to search this book in our catalog
1996
The Midwife's Apprentice
 Karen Cushman

Publishers Weekly In reviewing this 1996 Newbery winner, PW said that Cushman "has an almost unrivaled a...More

  Click to search this book in our catalog
1995
Walk Two Moons
 Sharon Creech
  Click to search this book in our catalog
 
1994
The Giver
Click to search this book in our catalog   Lois Lowry

Publishers Weekly Winner of the 1994 Newbery Medal, this thought-provoking novel centers on a 12-year-old boy...More

1993
Missing May
Click to search this book in our catalog   Cynthia Rylant
1992
Shiloh
Click to search this book in our catalog   Phyllis Reynolds Taylor

Publishers Weekly In the tradition of Sounder and Where the Red Fern Grows comes this boy-and-his-dog story s...More

 
1991
Maniac Magee
 Jerry Spinelli
  Click to search this book in our catalog
1990
Number the Stars
 Lois Lowry

Publishers Weekly Set in Nazi-occupied Denmark in 1943, this 1990 Newbery winner tells of a 10-year-old girl ...More

  Click to search this book in our catalog
1989
Joyful Noise
 Paul Fleischman

Publishers Weekly In resonant voices and striking use of language, this 1989 Newbery Medal-winner explores th...More

  Click to search this book in our catalog
 
1988
Lincoln: A Photobiography
Click to search this book in our catalog   Russell Freedman

Book list Gr. 4-10. This realistic, perceptive, and unromanticized biography of Lincoln includes a sampler of...More

1987
The Whipping Boy
Click to search this book in our catalog   Sid Fleischman
1986
Sarah, Plain and Tall
Click to search this book in our catalog   Patricia MacLachlan
 
1985
The Hero and the Crown
 Robin McKinley

Book list Gr. 7-10. Tauntingly called ``Lady Aerin, Dragon-Killer'' for the small, dog-size dragons s...More

  Click to search this book in our catalog
1984
Dear Mr. Henshaw
 Beverly Cleary

Publishers Weekly This amusing, often touching series of letters from Leigh Botts to a children's book au...More

  Click to search this book in our catalog
1983
Dicey's Song
 Cynthia Voigt

Book list In this sequel to Homecoming, Dicey, the oldest of the abandoned Tillerman children, settles her si...More

  Click to search this book in our catalog
 
1982
A Visit to William Blake's Inn
Click to search this book in our catalog   Nancy Willard

Publishers Weekly The Newbery Medal-winning, Caldecott Honor book about an imaginary inn belonging to William...More

1981
Jacob Have I Loved
Click to search this book in our catalog   Katherine Paterson

Back

Powered by: YouSeeMore © The Library Corporation (TLC)