Circulation Policy and Procedure

Registration of Patrons

All citizens of Washington County are invited and encouraged to become users of the public library.  This privilege extends to those owning property, attending school, and/or employed in Washington County as well.  WCPL also has reciprocal borrowing agreements with: Breckinridge, Bullitt, Grayson, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, LaRue, Marion, Meade, Nelson, Oldham, Shelby, Spencer, and Trimble counties.
To register, patrons must fill out a library card application.  Proof of identity must be presented through a valid driver's license or other valid identification; such as a school or employee ID, delivered mail or lease agreements at the time of registration.

Parents must sign the library card application as a statement of responsibility for children under the age of eighteen (18).  If the parent or guardian does not have a library card in good standing, that card’s issues must be cleared before the ability to sign for a dependent’s library card will be available. Parents may opt to allow or not to allow their minor children to use the computers and internet services.
It is the responsibility of the patron to report a lost or stolen library card immediately.  There is a fee of $5.00 to replace a lost or stolen card.

Bookmobile Patrons

Patrons recognized as bookmobile patrons by the bookmobile library staff will be assigned a fine exempt status in order for them to check out material from the bookmobile without accruing fines for late material.  Any charges for lost or damaged materials or items, including a $3.00 processing fee, will be charged to the patron’s account.

Guest Cards

Patrons that do not meet the qualifications for obtaining a free library card from Washington County Public Library, may use a guest card for one (1) hour a day only  provided they supply identification that they do not live in the county. After excessive use of a guest card, patrons will be asked to obtain a library card in order to have access to library services.  Exceptions may be made through the Director.

Teacher Cards

Teachers who wish to have a separate library card to check out material for their classroom may apply for a teacher’s library card. These cards will be filed at the library and all standard rules for check out limit, check out time, overdue fines, lost and damaged material and renewals will apply.  The teacher’s card will be linked to the patron’s personal card in order to guarantee receipt of all material back to the library.

Student Cards

Students enrolled at St. Catherine College may get a “Student Card” in order to check out material.  Each individual will be allowed to have a total of five (5) items out on their card at one time, which may include one (1) DVD and two (2) music CDs. All standard rules for check out time, overdue fines, lost and damaged material and renewals apply. Student cards expire after six (6) months and must be verified with a current student identification or payment to St. Catherine College.

Paid Cards

Individuals who do not meet any of the above considerations, but wish to join the Washington County Public Library, may purchase a library card for $25.00 for the year. This will allow them the same circulation rights as a resident.

Circulation Policy

A patron may check out up to five (5) items the first time using their card. This may include one (1) DVD. Thereafter, the limit will be twenty (20) items to any one individual at a time; two (2) may be DVDs and two (2) music CDs.

Books

The loan period for library books not on reserve is two weeks (14 days).  Books may be renewed two times each an additional two-week (14 days) period if no requests are on file for the books at the time of the renewal request.  Books MAY NOT be renewed for a third circulation period.

Fines on these items are computed at a rate of twenty-five (25) cents per day per item.  Parents are responsible for children’s fines.  The price of an item and a processing fee of $3.00 will be placed on the patron’s card thirty (30) days after the item is due to be returned.  Any items that do not have a request on them will be renewed up to two (2) times after initial check out.

Reserve Books

Patrons may only have two (2) reserve books checked out at one time. There is no restriction on the number of reserve requests held for any one person at one time unless the requests become a problem.  If a person requests a book which is not on the shelf or which has not been published yet, the person’s name will be added to the existing reserve list or, if no list exists, one will be started once the item has been ordered. 

Three (3) attempts will be made to contact a patron with a reserve book.  If the reserve book is not picked up within five (5) days after notification, it will be taken off reserve and returned to the shelf or given to the next patron on the reserve list
Patrons with reserve books will be contacted by email unless another communication method is requested.  If an email address is not supplied, patrons will be notified by telephone.

Reserve books may not be renewed due to other patrons waiting for the same books.

Periodicals

The loan period for periodicals/magazines is two weeks (14 days).  Periodicals/magazines may be renewed for an additional two-week (14 days) period but NOT renewed for a third circulation period. There will be no reserves on periodicals/magazines. The current issue that is displayed on the shelves will not circulate until the next issue is received and processed.

Fines on these items are computed at a rate of twenty-five (25) cents per day per item.  Parents are responsible for children’s fines.  The price of an item and a processing fee of $3.00 will be placed on the patron’s card thirty (30) days after the item is due to be returned. 

Deposit Books
Various library books are checked with a deposit.  These books include many study books (SAT, GED, Armed Forces, etc.) that tend not to be returned when checked out.  Therefore, a deposit for the cost of the books is held at the library and is returned in full to the patron at the time the book is returned to the library. A patron must have a valid library card and be in good standing in order to check out deposit books.

Audiobooks

The loan period for audiobooks not on reserve is two weeks (14 days). 

Audiobooks may be renewed two times each an additional two-week (14 days) period if no requests are on file for the audiobooks at the time of the renewal request.  Audiobooks MAY NOT be renewed for a third circulation period.

Fines on these items are computed at a rate of twenty-five (25) cents per day per item.  Parents are responsible for children’s fines.  The price of an item and a processing fee of $3.00 will be placed on the patron’s card thirty (30) days after the item is due to be returned.  Any items that do not have a request on them will be renewed up to two (2) times after initial check out.

DVDs

The loan period for DVDs is one week (7 days).  The limit will be two (2) DVDs to any one individual at a time.

DVDs are NOT able to be reserved or renewed.

The borrower must pay any charges for late return, damage, or loss.  Loss or damage shall be the cost of the DVD and a processing fee of $3.00.

Fines on these items are computed at a dollar ($1.00) per day per item.  As these are items that are more expensive, more difficult to replace and in high demand, prompt return is required.  The price of an item and a processing fee of $3.00 will be placed on the patron’s card thirty (30) days after the item is due to be returned.

Music CDs

The checkout period for music CDs is fourteen (14) days. The limit will be two (2) CDs to any one individual at a time.

The borrower must pay any charges for late return, damage, or loss.  Loss or damage shall be the cost of the CD and a processing fee of $3.00.

Fines on these items are computed at a rate of twenty-five (25) cents per day per item.  Parents are responsible for children’s fines.  The price of an item and a processing fee of $3.00 will be placed on the patron’s card thirty (30) days after the item is due to be returned.  Any items that do not have a request on them will be renewed up to two (2) times after initial check out.

Interlibrary Loan

The Washington County Public Library Interlibrary Loan Service will comply with the Kentucky Department of Libraries and Archives rules for interlibrary loan and will only borrow material from libraries within the state of Kentucky.

The library encourages the use of Interlibrary Loan (ILL), as this is an efficient, cost-saving way to address specific but limited patron interest.  Requests to borrow from other libraries will be limited to those items that the library might not be expected to own.  Interlibrary loan will not be used to obtain copies of videocassettes, DVDs, and CDs.
Borrowers of ILL materials must have a valid library card and be in good standing with no overdue materials or fines.

Materials borrowed through ILL are due according to the date set by the lending library.  Renewals will be at the discretion of the lending library.  Lost or damaged ILL materials may also carry a processing fee in addition to the replacement cost of the item(s); this is also determined by the lending library. Interlibrary loans may be renewed if the lending library permits.

ILL is encouraged for bookmobile patrons as well.

Items received through ILL are marked with a date due slip indicating when the book is due to be returned to the Washington County Public Library rather than the date due back to the lending library.  This date will allow time for the staff to process the book for return and transport time through the mail, approximately one week.

Interlibrary loan is a privilege not to be abused.  The loan period of the lending library will be adhered to at all times.

Fines for items borrowed through the interlibrary loan network will be established as the fine assessed by the lending library.  This fine may vary depending on the policy established by that lending library.

Reference and Genealogy

Reference and genealogy materials are non-circulating items.  These materials are available only for use in the library.  Providing no copyright restrictions are involved, portions of these items may be copied at twenty-five (25) cents per page for color copies and fifteen (15) cents per page for black copies.

Fines

Upon written notification by the library to return library materials, any willful failure to return library materials after such notice will give rise to presumption of intent to deprive the library of its property and is subject to prosecution under KRS 514.030.

Books, audiobooks and music CDs have a fine assessed at $.25 a day per item. DVDs have a fine assessed at $1.00 a day per item.  Items that can be renewed will be renewed up to two (2) times after initial check out.

Borrowers with charges/fines exceeding $5.00 cannot check out library materials until the charges have been paid in full. The library will make three (3) attempts to contact the patron by telephone, email or postal mail to make them aware of overdue charges on their library card.  Library privileges, including Internet access, will be revoked if overdue materials are not returned after receipt of third notice or fines exceed $5.00. Upon return or payment of the overdue materials and/or fines the patron is again in good standing with all attendant privileges. 

Any borrower with charges or fines of $5.00 or more present on their card will not be eligible to obtain a card for their minor child until their own card has been brought into good standing with the library.

Lost or Damaged Materials

The fee for lost or damaged materials (beyond repair) will be established as the replacement cost of the item including the fee for processing of $3.00 to shelf-ready condition.  Donations of books will be accepted in lieu of the replacement fee only when the donated material is brand new with no markings or flaws and is the exact copy of the item owned by the library. The $3.00 processing fee will still be required.

If the item is found and returned to the library in good condition within thirty (30) days from the date of payment, money paid for the lost item will be reimbursed minus the maximum fine charge provided a receipt is shown by the patron or library records show proof of payment.

A processing charge of $3.00 will be charged for missing or damaged parts to any item. This includes but is not limited to DVD and CD cases, barcodes, and maps attached to the item.

Renewals

Renewals may be made in person or by telephone.  Books, audiobooks and CD’s may be renewed two (2) times after initial check out as long as there are not reserves for the materials. 
Interlibrary loans may be renewed if the lending library permits.


Approved December 2012