Reviews for Ten thousand tries

Book list
From Booklist, Copyright © American Library Association. Used with permission.

Golden Maroni is an eighth grader who dreams of being a great soccer player like his idol, Lionel Messi. When his dad, who is also a soccer player and local hero, is diagnosed with ALS, Golden refuses to acknowledge his dad's mortality. To make matters worse, Golden's best friend, with whom he shares a birthday, is moving to another state. Being a fervent believer that 10,000 hours of practice is what it takes to master something, Golden plans to put in many hours of work to achieve three goals: become the captain of his middle school soccer team, prevent his friend from moving away, and help his dad beat ALS. Despite his madcap attempts to maintain the status quo, Golden is forced to realize that even his best efforts may not be enough to prevent his life from changing. Under the surface of this sports story is a touching tale about family, love, and grief. The strength of this novel lies in Makechnie’s (The Unforgettable Guinevere St. Clair, 2018) ability to create a compelling protagonist who strives to persevere despite great odds. Whether or not they are a fan of soccer, this title is sure to make readers laugh and cry. An excellent read-alike for Gary D. Schmidt's Pay Attention, Carter Jones, 2019.


Kirkus
Copyright © Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.

Eighth grader Golden Maroni diligently practices for soccer greatness while worrying about his father’s degenerative illness. Golden is the smallest boy on his coed soccer team, but he’s fast and determined. He believes that after spending 10,000 hours practicing and playing soccer, he’ll eventually achieve mastery of the game, like his legendary idol, Lionel Messi. Soccer is his entire family’s favorite sport—his father is a former soccer pro, and his parents are popular and successful local school coaches. But this year is different: Not only is it Golden’s final shot at captain and leading his team to the championship, but it’s 18 months since his beloved father was diagnosed with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis. An optimist, Golden believes that with hard work and positive thinking his dad can beat ALS. When Golden and his best friend, Benny Ho, discover their mutual bestie, Lucy Littlehouse, might be moving to Maine, Golden refuses to accept that fact either. The author poignantly explores Golden’s conflicting emotions as he learns to care for his dad, help his mom and three sisters, and come to terms with the prospect of loss. Most characters are cued as White; Benny is Chinese American and experiences racist abuse from rival teams. A heart-tugging and uplifting story about never giving up—on the soccer field, on loved ones, and on life. (Fiction. 9-13) Copyright © Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Kirkus
Copyright © Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.

Eighth grader Golden Maroni diligently practices for soccer greatness while worrying about his fathers degenerative illness.Golden is the smallest boy on his coed soccer team, but hes fast and determined. He believes that after spending 10,000 hours practicing and playing soccer, hell eventually achieve mastery of the game, like his legendary idol, Lionel Messi. Soccer is his entire familys favorite sporthis father is a former soccer pro, and his parents are popular and successful local school coaches. But this year is different: Not only is it Goldens final shot at captain and leading his team to the championship, but its 18 months since his beloved father was diagnosed with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis. An optimist, Golden believes that with hard work and positive thinking his dad can beat ALS. When Golden and his best friend, Benny Ho, discover their mutual bestie, Lucy Littlehouse, might be moving to Maine, Golden refuses to accept that fact either. The author poignantly explores Goldens conflicting emotions as he learns to care for his dad, help his mom and three sisters, and come to terms with the prospect of loss. Most characters are cued as White; Benny is Chinese American and experiences racist abuse from rival teams.A heart-tugging and uplifting story about never giving upon the soccer field, on loved ones, and on life. (Fiction. 9-13) Copyright Kirkus Reviews, used with permission.


Book list
From Booklist, Copyright © American Library Association. Used with permission.

Golden Maroni is an eighth grader who dreams of being a great soccer player like his idol, Lionel Messi. When his dad, who is also a soccer player and local hero, is diagnosed with ALS, Golden refuses to acknowledge his dad's mortality. To make matters worse, Golden's best friend, with whom he shares a birthday, is moving to another state. Being a fervent believer that 10,000 hours of practice is what it takes to master something, Golden plans to put in many hours of work to achieve three goals: become the captain of his middle school soccer team, prevent his friend from moving away, and help his dad beat ALS. Despite his madcap attempts to maintain the status quo, Golden is forced to realize that even his best efforts may not be enough to prevent his life from changing. Under the surface of this sports story is a touching tale about family, love, and grief. The strength of this novel lies in Makechnie’s (The Unforgettable Guinevere St. Clair, 2018) ability to create a compelling protagonist who strives to persevere despite great odds. Whether or not they are a fan of soccer, this title is sure to make readers laugh and cry. An excellent read-alike for Gary D. Schmidt's Pay Attention, Carter Jones, 2019.

Back