LS2Kids
Kid's Catalog
Search Our Catalog: 
Come in and "Check Us Out"
Regional Weather
Top Stories

News provided by Yahoo
UN envoy in Syria to seek Aleppo truce
News ImageUN envoy Staffan De Mistura held talks in the Syrian capital on Saturday to try to finalise a deal to freeze fighting in the war-ravaged second city of Aleppo. He met Foreign Minister Walid Muallem and agreed to send a delegation from his Damascus office to Aleppo on a fact-finding mission, state news agency SANA said, without giving a date. De Mistura's visit started as the army and pro-regime fighters regained territory in southern Syria from forces opposed to President Bashar al-Assad. The Swedish-Italian diplomat "hopes to set in motion as soon as possible his project" to halt fighting in Aleppo for six weeks, said a member of his delegation who spoke on condition of anonymity.
Sat, 28 Feb 2015 15:41:20 -0500
Former Knicks, Heat star Mason dead at 48
News ImageNew York (AFP) - Former NBA star Anthony Mason, a power forward who played 13 league seasons, died early Saturday morning at age 48, his family announced.
Sat, 28 Feb 2015 15:39:40 -0500
Stolen No. 44 NASCAR race car found in suburban Atlanta
News ImageHAMPTON, Ga. (AP) The No. 44 race car returned to its NASCAR shop in North Carolina on Saturday after it was recovered along a remote road in suburban Atlanta, apparently abandoned by the thieves who stole it from a hotel parking lot.
Sat, 28 Feb 2015 15:23:13 -0500
Germany's Schaeuble says confident Greece will fulfill bailout conditions
BERLIN (Reuters) - German Finance Minister Wolfgang Schaeuble told a German newspaper he was sure the Greek government would be able to fulfill the conditions attached to its bailout but warned that it would receive no further aid if it did not keep its promises. "The new Greek government has a lot of legitimacy with the population. I have confidence in the Greek government to implement the necessary measures, establish a more efficient tax administration and ultimately to fulfill the conditions," he said in an interview due to be published in Bild am Sonntag on Sunday. ... Sat, 28 Feb 2015 15:43:35 -0500
Harrington grabs lead at storm-struck PGA event
News ImageIreland's Padraig Harrington completed a four-under par 66 Saturday to seize a one-stroke lead over American Patrick Reed after the second round of the storm-hit US PGA Tour's Honda Classic. Thunderstorms on Friday pushed the conclusion of the second round to Saturday morning and they returned Saturday afternoon to swamp the course at PGA National, wiping out play early. Harrington, a three-time major champion who has slid to 297th in the world rankings, could have enjoyed a larger margin but a bogey-bogey finish left him on seven-under 133 after 36 holes. "At times I get lost and distracted from the process," Harrington said.
Sat, 28 Feb 2015 15:19:41 -0500
From Iraq to New York, a busy week for Islamic State group
News ImageBEIRUT (AP) Little known to the wider world 18 months ago, the Islamic State extremist group has muscled its way into the international spotlight by carving out a self-declared caliphate in the heart of the Mideast, beheading its opponents and foreign journalists, and attracting radicalized youth as far afield as Paris, London and New York.
Sat, 28 Feb 2015 15:19:35 -0500
Harrington takes 36-hole lead, then more rain in Florida
News ImagePALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. (AP) Padraig Harrington has the lead going into Sunday at the Honda Classic. Thanks to rain that washed out the third round, it will still feel like Saturday.
Sat, 28 Feb 2015 15:14:18 -0500
Flights cancelled as ice-storm chills Dallas airport
News ImageA ferocious winter ice storm forced the cancellation of several hundred flights at Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport on Saturday as more than two inches snow blanketed the key transport hub, officials said. As of 9:30 am local time (1530), more than 350 flights from the airport, roughly 35 percent of the daily total, had been cancelled, a statement from the airport said. The statement said "over two inches of snow and an icy glaze" had covered the airport since Friday, forcing staff to deploy treatment trucks and snow plows to keep the airfield operational. Dallas/Fort Worth is ranked the third busiest airport in the world in terms of passenger traffic, with 62 million customers traveling through the transport hub each year.
Sat, 28 Feb 2015 15:01:05 -0500
AP Interview: Greece's repayments to ECB need discussion
News ImageATHENS, Greece (AP) Greece will prioritize debt repayments to the International Monetary Fund, some of which come due in March, but repayments to the European Central Bank are "in a different league" and will need discussion with Greece's creditors, the country's finance minister said Saturday.
Sat, 28 Feb 2015 14:54:05 -0500
GOP leaders are struggling to show they really are in charge
WASHINGTON (AP) Two months into full Republican control of Congress, GOP leaders are struggling to demonstrate they really are in charge. Sat, 28 Feb 2015 14:46:37 -0500
Copyright (c) 2015 Yahoo! Inc. All rights reserved
Online Databases
Click to search this book in our catalog Close to Famous
by Bauer, Joan

Publishers Weekly Bauer (Peeled) tweaks a familiar recipe in this heartwarming novel about a determined girl...More

Click to search this book in our catalog Flyaway
by Lucy Christopher

Book list *Starred Review* Like her father and grandfather, 13-year-old Isla seems to have a mystical connection, as ...More

Click to search this book in our catalog Quiet
by Susan Cain

Publishers Weekly While American culture and business tend to be dominated by extroverts, business consultan...More

Click to search this book in our catalog Motive
by Jonathan Kellerman

Publishers Weekly The crafty plot of Edgar-winner Kellerman's 30th novel featuring L.A. psychologist Alex...More

Click to search this book in our catalog Shiloh
by Phyllis Reynolds Taylor

Publishers Weekly In the tradition of Sounder and Where the Red Fern Grows comes this boy-and-his-dog story set in ru...More

323 East Maple Hubbard, IA 50122  |  Phone 641-864-2771
Powered by: YouSeeMore © The Library Corporation (TLC)